What are Chakras?

Chakra means “wheel” and it refers to the energy points in your body. There are 7 of them and they are thought to be spinning disks of energy that are meant to stay open and aligned. Each individual chakra has a corresponding name, color, and specific area of the spine it is located on.

Share to Pinterest using this graphic if you enjoy the article and feel that your friends and family would appreciate learning about chakras:

Root Chakra (Muladhara)
Represents our foundation
Sits at the base of the spine and gives us a feeling of being grounded
When opened, it gives us the ability to feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges
When blocked, we can feel threatened 
What it controls: survival issues, such as financial independence 
Mantra: “I can’t grow from an unsteady foundation”
Color: red
Element: earth
Stone: hematite
Yoga pose: warrior I
When it develops: 1-7 years
Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)
Helps inform how we relate to our emotions
Location: lower abdomen
What it controls: your sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality
Mantra: “I always honor others but not before myself”
Color: orange
Element: water
Stone: tigers eye
Yoga pose: bound angle pose
When it develops: 8-14 years
Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
Location: upper abdomen in the stomach area
What it controls: self worth, confidence, and self-esteem
Mantra: “ Self love starts when I accept all parts of myself”
Color: yellow
Element: fire
Stone: amber
Yoga pose: boat pose
When it develops: 15-21 years
Heart Chakra (Anahata)
Location: center of chest
What it controls: love, joy, and inner peace
Mantra: “When I love myself, loving others comes easily”
Color: green
Element: air
Stone: rose quartz
Yoga pose: camel pose
When it develops: 21-28 years
Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
Location: throat
What it controls: communication, self-expression, and truth
Mantra: “I speak my truth, always”
Color: light blue/turquoise
Element: sound/music
Stone: aquamarine
Yoga pose: fish pose
When it develops: 29-35 years
Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)
Location: forehead between the eyes
What it controls: intuition, imagination, and wisdom
Mantra: “I am open to exploring what cannot be seen”
Color: dark blue/purple
Element: light
Yoga pose: child’s pose
When it develops: 36-42 years
Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)
Location: at the very top of the head
What it controls: inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection
Mantra: “I am a vessel for love and light”
Color: violet/white
Element: divine consciousness
Stone: clear quartz
Yoga pose: headstand
When it develops: 43-49 years

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s